Selection committee:
Preparatory Institute (Faculty):

Recognition of Education and Legalization of Documents

General issues of document legalization

According to the legislation of the Russian Federation the documents issued in another country can be used (can be accepted by Russian authorities and organizations) with only with legalization.

Attention! The legalization of foreign documents and the recognition of foreign education are different procedures. 

Documents are legalized for the legal use of a foreign document in another country.
The recognition of education is carried out for providing the rights for study and (or) work.
A number of certain formal procedures for giving the document validity on the territory of other country for the purpose of representing it in official bodies of other state is called legalization. There are 2 types of legalizations:

Consular legalization

This procedure is carried out in 2 stages:

witnessing of documents by competent authorities of foreign affairs (Ministry of Foreign Affairs) of the country of the document issue (depending on legislative requirements of the country of issue: mostly the original, in some countries - copies)  – the corresponding stamps with the indication of the position and the signature of the certifying person are put down;
witnessing of documents by consular services of the Russian Federation (consulate or embassy of the Russian Federation) in the country of the document issue– the corresponding stamps with the indication of the position and the signature of the certifying person are put down.
«Apostille» – a  simplified legalization procedure.

The “Apostille” stamp on the official document, issued by the authorities and organizations of member countries of the Hague convention of 1961, which abolishes the requirement of consular legalization of foreign official documents:
is put down on the original of the document or on a separate sheet, which is attached to the document and could be written in the official language of the issuing authority;
is put down by competent authorized bodies of the country of the document issue (for example, State Secretary, Department of Education, Ministry of Education, educational institutions and others).
Don’t confuse the legalization procedure with the legal witnessing of document copies! The legal witnessing of document copies and document translations in the Russian Federation according to the civil legislation is carried out by a notary. Copies of translated documents should be attached and filed to the translations certified by the notary.

Without legalization

Documents issued in member countries of the multilateral or bilateral agreements, which abolish the requirement of legalization of documents, are accepted without legalization.

List of countries, with which the Russian Federation have signed international agreements, that abolish the legalization procedure:

Bilateral agreements:

- Albania (Republic of Albania);
- Algeria (People's Democratic Republic of Algeria);
- Argentina (Argentine Republic);
- Bosnia and Herzegovina;
- Bulgaria (Republic of Bulgaria);
- China (People's Republic of China);
- Croatia (Republic of Croatia);
- Cuba (Republic of Cuba);
- Cyprus (Republic of Cyprus);
- Czech Republic;
- Egypt (Arab Republic of Egypt);
- Estonia (Republic of Estonia);
- Finland (Republic of Finland);
- Greece (Hellenic Republic);
- Hungary;
- India (Republic of India);
- Iran (Islamic Republic of Iran);
- Iraq (Republic of Iraq);
- Italy (Italian Republic);
- Korea, North (Democratic People's Republic of Korea);
- Latvia (Republic of Latvia);
- Lithuania (Republic of Lithuania);
- Macedonia (Republic of Macedonia);
- Mongolia;
- Montenegro;
- Poland (Republic of Poland);
- Romania (Romanian People's Republic);
- Serbia (Republic of Serbia);
- Slovakia (Slovak Republic);
- Slovenia (Republic of Slovenia);
- Spain (Kingdom of Spain);
- Tunisia (Tunisian Republic);
- Vietnam (Socialist Republic of Vietnam);
- Yemen, South (People's Democratic Republic of Yemen).

The convention on legal assistance and legal relations in civil, family and criminal matters (22.01.1993):

- Armenia (Republic of Armenia);
- Azerbaijan (Azerbaijan Republic);
- Belarus (Republic of Belarus);
- Georgia;
- Kazakhstan (Republic of Kazakhstan);
- Kyrgyzstan (Kyrgyz Republic);
- Moldova (Republic of Moldova);
- Russia (Russian Federation);
- Tajikistan (Republic of Tajikistan);
- Turkmenistan;
- Ukraine;
- Uzbekistan (Republic of Uzbekistan).